Sometimes at bedtime

Both of the kids are in bed, and baby Hattie is sound asleep. However, the little guy is talking to his miniature Lightning McQueen and stuffed whale. It might be a while before he finally falls asleep.

Eric and I are both exhausted, but sometimes, you just have to Netflix. I don’t know why! So we settle in for at least 1 (but probably 2) episodes before we fall asleep. And we’re eating chips & salsa in bed, because we can, and we don’t have to share with the kids. WHA, HA, HA HA!

And not 30 seconds after I’m tucked in cozy, I hear a squeaky little voice,

“mama!” 10 second pause. “mama!” 10 second pause “mama?”

I’ve tried sending daddy before, but only mama will do.

So I untuck the comfy covers, put on my old lady slippers, and shuffle down the hall. It’s 9:15 and I’m about to turn into a pumpkin.

When I walk into his room, my little Coby is sitting up in his bed wearing the goofiest little grin that you ever did see.

“Mama,” he says, “I need to tell you something, okay?”

“Okay, buddy. Just one thing, but then you need to sleep and no more yelling.”

“Okay,” he says, “I always want you. I always need you.”

And he puts his tiny, sweaty hands on my face, pulls my head closer, and kisses my cheek. Then he turns my face and kisses the other cheek. Then he turns my face again and kisses the other cheek. Then again, and again, and again.

IMG_3658

Always being wanted and needed can be exhausting. But it’s a good exhausted, most of the time. And even though I didn’t really need the reminding, I’m glad he likes to tell me.

Leave a Reply

