Reading Truth

I read a lot. Mostly books, frequently the news, occasionally magazines, lots of blogs and any online article that looks somewhat interesting – but mostly, I love books. Fiction, non-fiction, biography, self-help, educational, historical, travel, well… anything really.  My favorite place to “escape” – the library. Endless books for free!? A great idea!

Since becoming mommy (aka exhausted drool wiper in sweat pants and super-hero), I’ve been able to read more. It’s true! I’ve come to realize that it is truly one of the best hobbies that I actually CAN and WANT to do at this time in my life (Go ahead, label me “nerd”, it’s true).

Books I just finished or am currently reading: Babylon Rising, Bringing up BeBe, Real Food for Mom and Baby, Grace Based Parenting, People of the Ark, Jane Eyre (I always seem to be reading and re-reading this favorite), Choosing to See… oh and about 10 other books on my nightstand and kindle that are waiting to be read.

Parenting books are high on the list right now – and the advice is welcome, but it stresses me out! “Hold your baby all the time” or “Don’t hold your baby all the time, you’ll spoil him.” “Don’t let being a mom define you” or “You are a mom now – it is who you are.” So many conflicting views, it’s hard to know what to believe and what not to. When to act, when not to act. When to say to myself, “it’s okay to be stressed” and when to say to myself, “Stop being stressed! Get over it! Buck up!” When do I “nap when the baby naps” and when do I make dinner and take a shower. Reference any book, ask any mom – and different views collide on parenting. However, TRUTH on womanhood and motherhood is certainly clear in Proverbs – and throughout the whole Bible.

Proverbs 31:15 “She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household…” Yes! I do that one every night. I also rise while it is night and provide pacifiers to those in my household who loudly request them!

vs 17 “She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong” – Note to self, need to work out more.

vs 21 “…her clothing is fine linen and purple” – My clothing is purple. But it is jersey cotton and not really the royal quality that is being described here. Point taken – get out of my sweat pants and put on some makeup!

vs 27 – 28 “She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her.” Wow. What a woman.

I’m so thankful for a God who provides for all of our needs. The growing need inside of me to know “HOW do I do this?” He has provided his Word to direct us, and His Holy Spirit to guide us. This whole chapter is rich in TRUTH and trumps every parenting book written.

When in doubt (as I frequently am about HOW to or WHEN to or WHAT to) – read the TRUTH – written by the only perfect Father there ever has been, and who loves His children more than we can even imagine.

2 thoughts on “Reading Truth

  1. Beautifully written! Prov 31 inspires me on a daily basis. Being a mom is the most rewarding job and the hardest job all in the same breath. With 3 kids I do not get to read as much as I want to and I miss it. I am reading the series Gods and Kings. I highly recommend reading them. I am on book 3. Maybe one day I will get thru them. If I could just stay awake at night to read…

Leave a Reply

