Coby John Brenneman

At 4:30 AM on Thursday, September 22, I woke up with strong contractions. I woke up Eric and decided to get a shower and prepare to go to the hospital – the contractions were getting progressivley stronger and closer together.

Our goal was to leave the house by 7:30 AM, but by 6:30, I was out of breath and practically screaming with every contraction.

We pulled out of the driveway at 6:42 AM – the next time we returned home, our lives would be be completely different.

Eric dropped me off at the hospital entrance and I went up to the maternity wing to check in. At 7:00 AM, the nurse took me back to the triage area to see if I truly was in labor. She checked me and said, “oh honey, you are at 5 centimeters – this is going fast!”. She started rushing around to get me to the actual delivery room and I was begging for the epidural the whole time. Eric, patient as ever, stayed by my side and endured my intense hand squeezing.

After getting to the delivery room and begging for my epidural, the anesthesiologist (my favorite person of the morning) arrived at 8:15 to give me the epidural. Wow – best invention ever. By 8:30, the medicine had kicked in and I was able to actually speak in complete sentences again.  This pic is obviously post epidural.

At 10:00, the Dr. came in to break my water.

At 12:00, I was dilated to 10 centimeters.

(Once the nurse proclaimed that I was at 10, fear like I’ve never known coursed through my veins. I can’t explain it. I knew what had to be done and I was the only person in the world who could do it.)

After about 10-12 “practice pushes” with the nurse, the baby was pretty far down the birth canal.

At 1:00, she went to get the Dr. and “the team”. A whole entourage of people dressed in blue scrubs came into the room. Bright lights, stirrups, heat lamps, and the show was on.

The doctor joked with Eric, “Have you ever delivered a baby before? Me neither.”

Push #1 – baby’s head is out.

Push #2 – baby’s arm is out. The Dr. called out for me to look down, and he waved the baby’s arm at me and said, “hey mom!”

Push #3 – baby is out! And screaming his head off!

The doctor called out, “it’s a boy!” and turned the baby’s little bottom towards me so that I could see for myself. They threw him up on my chest.

After they cleaned him off and handed him back to me, he was so alert. We looked at each other and I couldn’t stop the tears from flowing. How much I loved him the moment I met him! God has given me this amazing gift and I can’t believe he’s mine. Coby, Eric and I spent the next 40 minutes looking at each other and trying to absorb everything that had just happened.

Two overwhelming days in the hospital later, we were home. And almost three weeks later, here I am writing this post.

I don’t know for sure what God has called me to do vocationally: I frequently doubt my career choices and path. I sometimes question where we live: should I be in SC? I’m a pretty low-risk person and I frequently question the choices I make and how to best spend my time.

However, one thing I know for certain, is that HE has called me to be Coby’s mommy. His whole birth and life is such a miracle, and I am called to put my every effort into raising Coby to be a strong, Godly man. This I know for certain. I’m praying daily for wisdom, strength and grace to do what I know I am called to do.

The words of “Great is thy Faithfulness” have been on my mind lately. I can’t even begin to express how blessed I feel.

“Great is thy faithfulness, great is thy faithfulness! Morning by morning new mercies I see. All I have needed thy hand hath provided. Great is thy faithfulness Lord unto me.”

Everyone is happy and healthy – and Coby gets about 350 kisses a day. 100 from me, 100 from daddy, and 150 from Grammy (my mom) who has been here for 2 weeks and will be here one more.

So blessed!!!

– MJ-

5 thoughts on “Coby John Brenneman

  1. AWW! It is so awesome to hear how things went, I am so happy for you guys. God is so good. Being a mom is the best most amazing thing ever! Enjoy that little baby, they get big so fast!

  2. what a sweet tender post. so glad that coby is here, and i know you will be the best mom to him! glad that God gave you such a great little guy.
    hope to see you all soon!

  3. Great…Now I’m bawling my eyes out. So happy for you. I know you are already an awesome mommy and you are doing great with Coby! I love you!

Leave a Reply

