The June List

A few weeks ago, I woke up in the middle of the night, unable to sleep. I read in a pregnancy book that you should only lay in bed for 15 minutes and then get up to do something to preoccupy yourself – otherwise you train your body to lay awake in bed.

So I dutifully spent my 15 minutes trying to fall back asleep and listening to a furry someone make whistling noises out of their nose (Mya, not Eric. Sheesh).

Then I got up, made myself a cup of Sleepy Time tea to sip at the kitchen table, and started making a list of all of the house projects I wanted to work on – and what month I wanted them completed. That list has since been sitting in the kitchen, reminding me every day of what must be done!

On the list for June: Paint nursery, new blinds for nursery, ceiling fan in nursery (obviously the nursery is forefront on my mind).

So this weekend, we tackled it all – The June List.

At this point, my awesome, can-do-anything husband, had already installed the ceiling fan. But these are some of the “before” pics.

Pardon the evil beast’s glowing eyes – I think it was a full moon.

See the door for Hobbits? It leads to storage space. I’m thinking of putting a funky handle on it – something to find at an antique store. Maybe not an actual door knob, but just a funky ‘something’.

Eric the handy-man, can-do-anything, CPA on the weekdays, is quite the painter. He used to paint on the weekends during college to make extra cash. Because of his extremely meticulous ways in all things, this makes him an awesome painter and a fantastic accountant, but not so great at folding laundry in a hurry.

My painting skills are lacking a smidge (understatement). Paint on the carpet? NBD. That is why we have Resolve. Paint on the ceiling? That’s why we have white paint – to cover it up afterwards. I’d love to use that blue tape on the trim so you don’t have to cut in so close. However, the hubbs would scoff at the mention of blue tape. REAL painters don’t use blue tape – they have steady hands. Blue tape is for sissys!!

This makes for a great combo – because while he is meticulous at painting, he also really ENJOYS it! And I really enjoy watching the paint go on the walls from my lounging position on a comfy chair while eating Hershey’s nuggets with almonds.

We (Eric) painted the room a light gray – it’s Sherwin Williams’ “ARGOS”. The trim was painted a bright white. And I made the curtains with some fabric from Mary Jo’s in Charlotte (most overwhelming fabric store ever).

The ceiling fan is quite lovely.


Not sure if I’ll keep the flags there. I made them real quick-like with some scrap fabric – I love them! But, I’ve been known to change my mind a time or three while decorating. For now, they stay.

That is the extent of the nursery projects for June. I still have a lot more to do in the upcoming months.

Today is “25” weeks – woo hoo! Only 3 more until the 3rd trimester – woa!

I didn’t really go out of my way to celebrate “24” weeks, but I did have a lovely week of eating ice cream daily – so that is like a party every day.

Peace Out,

MJ

P.S. We went to my in-laws for Father’s Day dinner – and I made these zucchini cupcakes (Martha Stewart Recipe) with cream cheese icing. They were DELISH! And made with zucchini from our garden, so that makes them extra good! Vegetables (zucchini, carrots, etc.) are the BEST in cake! It’s like you are losing weight AS you are eating them! (HFD = Happy Father’s Day)

7 thoughts on “The June List

  1. we have a lot of zucchini from our family garden, so i would like to try that! would love to see you soon. i need to see your baby belly!

  2. Wow! You weren’t kidding around!! Look at all the stuff you guys got done!! The nursery looks GREAT!! ❤ the curtains!! And the flags are super cute!! You did such good job!!!

  3. i love those curtains…and the banner is super cute too…you two are just way too talented.
    cute cupcakes…
    can i borrow eric to paint at my house? pretty please? i’ll serve you chocolate if you say yes!

    • Sarah – you can definitley borrower Eric at any time to paint. When people ask him to help with painting projects, he is THRILLED! I think Wes mentioned to him this weekend about painting a bathroom or something at your house – and Eric was like “Yes! More painting!” – he seriously loves to help paint. I don’t understand it but I don’t fight it either 🙂

  4. Remember when we painted your laundry room? We are the worst painters ever. Good thing you let Eric do the nursery 🙂

  5. Hey girl! Finally getting to catch up and read this. Love it! LOVE the name. I miss the south so much! You are adorable preggers:) I hope to come down before the year is out! MIss you and love ya! The curtain is adorable. I just got a sewing machine so I am always impressed by people who sew. I am not good at it LOL!
    Jamie Brindley

Leave a Reply

